IMAGE: Bronze PBIS Award IMAGE: Silver PBIS AwardGREAT NEWS: All five Delavan-Darien School District schools were recognized this year for having great behavior programs.

When the Wisconsin RtI Center/PBIS Network Schools of Recognition for the 2016-17 school year were announced, we learned that DDHS received a silver award, while Phoenix Middle School, Darien Elementary, Turtle Creek Elementary and Wileman Elementary each received a bronze award.

The schools are among 900+ in Wisconsin recognized for implementing a culturally responsive multi-level system of support. 

PBIS stands for Positive Behaviors, Interventions and Support. At Delavan-Darien Schools, PBIS is known as “The Comet Code.” The code is the set of rules and expectations for all students in all areas of our buildings and campuses. It calls for everyone to “Be Respectful,” “Be Responsible,” “Be Safe” and “Be a Learner” at all times.

PBIS is a proactive approach that establishes safer and more effective schools not only in Delavan-Darien, but throughout the country.

It started at Delavan-Darien High School in 2010-11.

“These awards are the result of not just one person or a handful of staffers, but all staff contributed to this achievement,” Superintendent Robert Crist said. “We have worked diligently for the last five-plus years, implementing this proven system in our schools. We have seen positive results each year since we began and these awards recognize the hard work of our building teams. I am very proud we have received these honors.”

In the past, the award-winning schools received “distinction” and “merit” awards for the programs. This year, the awards are on a bronze, sliver, gold and platinum level system.

The new recognition system continues to commend schools beginning their journeys, but also congratulate those that are successfully sustaining and extending them, according to the RtI website. This is important because research tells us that full implementation leads to improved student outcomes.

A summary of the center’s criteria for the different levels of recognition is below:

  • Bronze: At full implementation/fidelity in one content area at the universal level for at least one year
  • Silver: At full implementation/fidelity in one content area at the universal level for at least two years and selected level for at least one year
  • Gold: At full implementation/fidelity in two content areas at the universal and selected levels for at least two years
  • Platinum: At full implementation/fidelity in all three content areas, at all three levels, and for at least three years

A brief overview of criteria can be found on the Recognized Schools At A Glance chart. A more detailed document outlining criteria for each of the levels can be found on the Recognized School Process chart.

The list* of recognized Wisconsin schools and more information about the awards also available on the RtI Center website.

(*Wileman is not listed on this online list, but school administrators have verified personally that Wileman did indeed receive a bronze recognition this school year.) 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *